Catching up with Writing 101, Day 7: Give and Take

Writing 101, Day 7: Write a post based on the contrast between two things — whether people, objects, emotions, places, or something else.Today’s twist: write your post in the form of a dialogue. You can create a strong opposition between the two speakers — a lovers’ quarrel or a fierce political debate, for example. Or you could aim to highlight the difference in tone and style between the two different speakers — your call! -The Daily Post

Last night I revisited a 90s Hong Kong triad movie called Young and Dangerous, the first in a very successful series. The last time I saw this, I was around 10.  Now that I’m 28, the feelings are quite different.  And I thought to myself how different it felt right now to be watching this. If my 10 year old self and my current self was trying to write a review, this is what it would kind of sound like.

First, lets take a little synopsis.

Young and Dangerous is a 1996 Hong Kong crime film about a group of triad members, detailing their adventures and dangers in a Hong Kong Triad society. –Wikipedia

Me (Ten): Young and Dangerous was not really for me.  It had a lot of fighting and swearing. It was kind of scary because they were all really mean.  I finally know that being part of triad is not so fun.  They are kids who have gone bad. Except the main guy is kind of cute with his long hair.  I just don’t really understand why the Kwan guy kept getting in the way of the main character.

Me (28): There is a lot of violence and a lot of vulgar language, except in the context, this is one way of how to show the triad society and the intense atmosphere.  Its trying to show that even in their world, there is a division of good and bad. Kwan is the bad side because he doesn’t have any morals and Ho Nam is the good side because he has his own principles.  There are stereotypes shown here as to how the triad society really is and at the same time, it also emphasizes on the relationships of brotherhood, righteousness and loyalty which are  all very important to our good characters.

Just a brief little contrast as to the little bit I remember of how I felt when I first saw this.  It is almost 20 years ago so its a little foggy. The difference is that when I was younger, things were more black and white and I didn’t know what certain things meant but now that I’m older, I can watch this and see the grey area and the themes.  Of course, this is just my interpretation and some may see it very much different from me.

Have you revisited any movies from when you were young that makes you feel different about it? Which one is it?

Leave a Reply

