Catching up with Writing 101, Day 5: Be Brief (aka Funtastic 150)

Writing 101 Day 5: You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.  Today’s twist: Approach this post in as few words as possible. – The Daily Post

The words on the little note scrolls through in my mind as I walk down the street, skimming the address numbers in search for the person that this belongs to.  Similar houses stretched out in front. Uncertain of who was the rightful owner of this piece of paper, it felt right to give it back. When I arrived, I saw flowers beautifully blooming in the bay window.

I went up the stairs and rang the doorbell. Before the echo quieted, footsteps shuffled to the door.  The door opened and staring back was a woman.  

I said, “Hi, I happened to come across a note the other day. I felt like I should bring it back.” I held out the envelope and the woman stepped forward to take it.  Flipping it over, a look of surprise appeared. Her eyes glimmered with tears as she thanked me quickly and closed the door. 

Not as brief as I’d want and nothing special but its perfect for making up for the last two weeks that I skipped for Funtastic 50.  Now that I’m rested from my vacation, I’m ready to get back on track and continue on with the Friday Funtastic Fifty 😉

Leave a Reply

