Catching Up to Writing 101, Day 3: Songs/Commit to a Writing Practice

Writing 101, Day 3: Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you? Today’s twist: You’ll commit to a writing practice. The frequency and the amount of time you choose to spend today — and moving forward — are up to you, but we recommend a minimum of fifteen uninterrupted minutes per day.The Daily Post

Music is my life.  Its what keeps me going and in many ways, relating to music is something I’ve always been able to do.  Of course, there are certain songs that relate more than others.  I still remember some songs when I was younger and having my crushes and unrequited love and all that jazz.  The sad love songs about how the guy just keeps going away.  I look back and can’t really believe that its been so many years and how pathetic it all seems now.  Thinking about it, everything does happen for a reason, because without that, I would never have fallen in love with music.

Choosing three most important songs may be one of the hardest task so I chose whatever I felt reached out to me the most. Keep in mind I’m an overanalyzing, overthinking and deeply sentimental and emotional person (or at least I’ve grown to be more of the latter two things in the past few years).

1) Broken Angel – Boyce Avenue

Anyone know who Boyce Avenue is? They are a fabulous band formed by three brothers.  I believe they’ve only ever performed Broken Angel at one of the concerts in Montreal and that was THE BEST moment. Broken Angel relates to how I feel about my relationship with my father.  I love him deeply but yet there are some complexity in our relationship up to his death and a lot of it is only slowly being resolved.

2) August Rhapsody (from the movie August Rush)

Purely instrumental with minimal vocals, August Rhapsody is innocent and beautiful.  Its passionate about the replicating the natural sounds and has a peaceful reminder that music is all around us.  It could be because I related to the movie itself that this song resounds more to me (than it might to others) but there isn’t one time that I’m not overwhelmed with calming feelings when I hear this.  Its simple, beautiful and very sweet.

3) Little Moments – Brad Paisley

Country/Rock (or whatever this genre is) is one thats been growing on me.  These songs are always so happy to listen to.  Little Moments is something of a love song between me and my boyfriend.  It talks about little moments that we’ve had especially the getting lost part and not reading a map.  Yeah, signature stuff on our vacations.  Thankfully for the invention of GPS, its occurred less but we always come out of these things laughing and even finding some lovely new places. This song brings me into that happy place of how no matter what goes wrong, at least I know there’s one person I can depend on and he is not only the love of my life but my best friend.

What are the most important songs in your life? Is it because it has a special meaning to you?

Leave a Reply

